Qantas has today revealed the names for its fleet of eight Boeing 787-9s. The new Qantas Dreamliner fleet aircraft will take to the skies on routes including Perth to London and Melbourne to Los Angeles.current credit card offer upto 120,000 bonus qantas pointsMore than 60,000 suggestions were put forward and 45,000 votes cast in selecting the names of the aircraft. The winning entries consist of landmarks, native animals, literature and Indigenous heritage. The final Qantas Dreamliner names chosen were:

  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Boomerang
  • Skippy
  • Waltzing Matilda
  • Uluru
  • Great Southern Land
  • Quokka
  • Dreamtime

The names will be painted beneath the cockpit window on each Boeing 787-9. AV Geeks can keep an eye out from later this year, with the first aircraft due to arrive in October 2017.

For more information on Qantas’ history of naming aircraft visit the Qantas blog Roo Tales.

Readers may also be interested in: