Australian Public Holidays 2024

Holidays in Australia are split into Australian National and State / Territory public holidays.

Only 7 days are National Holidays in Australia – New Year’s Day, Australia Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, ANZAC Day, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Holidays such as King’s Birthday and Labour Day are declared by individual State and Territory Governments.

You can click above or scroll down to access a full list of official Australian public holidays in 2023 and 2024, or view individual States and Territories by following the links below:

The information on this page is subject to change as official updates are announced. Check back regularly for updates.

Accor Plus Exclusive Reader Offer TCM

Australian Public Holidays 2024

Monday 1 JanuaryNew Year’s DayNational
Friday 26 JanuaryAustralia DayNational
Monday 4 MarchLabour DayWA
Monday 11 MarchAdelaide Cup DaySA
Monday 11 MarchCanberra DayACT
Monday 11 MarchEight Hours DayTAS
Monday 11 MarchLabour DayVIC
Friday 29 MarchGood FridayNational
Saturday 30 MarchEaster SaturdayACT, NT, SA, NSW, QLD, VIC
Sunday 31 MarchEaster SundayACT, NSW, QLD, VIC
Monday 1 AprilEaster MondayNational
Tuesday 2 AprilEaster TuesdayTAS
Thursday 25 AprilANZAC DayNational
Monday 6 MayLabour DayQLD
Monday 1 MayMay DayNT
Monday 27 MayReconciliation DayACT
Monday 3 JuneWestern Australia DayWA
Monday 10 JuneKings’s Birthday /
Volunteer’s Day (SA)
Monday 5 AugustBank Holiday*NSW
Monday 5 AugustPicnic DayNT
Monday 23 SeptemberKing’s BirthdayWA
TBAGrand Final FridayVIC
Monday 7 OctoberLabour DayACT, NSW, SA
Monday 7 October Kings’s BirthdayQLD
Tuesday 5 NovemberMelbourne CupVIC
Tuesday 24 DecemberChristmas Eve – part day*NT, QLD, SA
Wednesday 25 DecemberChristmas DayNational
Thursday 26 DecemberBoxing Day /
Proclamation Day (SA)*
Tuesday 31 DecemberNew Year’s Eve – part day*NT, SA

Australian Public Holidays – Notes

*The Easter Saturday public holiday is referenced using slightly different terminology across the New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria jurisdictions. For simplicity, this website uses the terminology ‘Easter Saturday’
*Easter Tuesday is a public holiday observed by certain awards/agreements and the State Public Service*Bank Holiday applies to banks and certain financial institutions in New South Wales, per Retail Trading Act 2008 of NSW
*New Year’s Eve is a part holiday. This holiday is observed within the Northern Territory and South Australia only, from 7 pm to midnight

Australian public holidays: What you need to know

A public holiday is a holiday recognised by law in Australia. Australian Public holidays are either prescribed by the Fair Work Act or declared by a state or territory government.

Each calendar year, seven public holidays are celebrated nationally across Australia. While other public holidays are declared on a state and territory basis, these seven official national public holidays are recognised by all jurisdictions of Australia.

australian public holidays

Official Australian public holidays

The following national public holidays are observed in all Australian states and territories:

New Year’s Day: New Year’s Day is celebrated on 1st January across all Australian states and territories. New Year’s Day falls on the first day of the new calendar each year, directly after New Year’s Eve.

Australia Day: Australia Day marks the anniversary of the arrival of the First Fleet of British ships in 1788. Australia Day is currently celebrated on 26th January each year. Some Australians believe that the date should be changed.

Good Friday: A religious holiday, Good Friday is observed across Australia. The public holiday is held on the Friday before Easter Sunday.

Easter Monday: Easter Monday is a religious holiday which commemorates the resurrection of Christ. Easter Monday is held the day after Easter Sunday. This religious holiday is observed in many countries, including Australia. In combination with Easter Friday, Easter Monday provides many Australians with a four-day long weekend.

ANZAC Day: ANZAC Day is observed on 25th April each year. This public holiday commemorates Australian and New Zealand members of the armed forces. It is a national day of remembrance in both Australia and New Zealand.

Christmas Day: Christmas Day commemorates the birth of Jesus Christ. This public holiday is celebrated across Australia on 25th December each calendar year.

Boxing Day: Boxing Day is observed in selected countries that previously formed part of the British Empire. This holiday is observed the day after Christmas Day, on 26th December.

Events such as Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve are not typically legislated Australian public holidays, although some jurisdictions may observe part-day holidays.

australian public holidays

The timing of Australian public holidays

A number of national public holidays are timed to coincide with school holiday periods. Where a public holiday falls on a weekend, there is generally a declaration in lieu made for the following Monday.

Visiting Australia during a public holiday

Many Australians choose to take time off or to take a trip on public holidays. If you are planning to travel to or around Australia during a public holiday or peak holiday season, make sure you plan ahead to avoid missing out. Services such as flights, restaurants, tours and accommodation can book out well in advance. Selected businesses and shops may close during a public holiday. This can differ between jurisdictions.

State and territory public holidays

All Australian states and territories celebrate jurisdictional public holidays. These holidays are observed in addition to the national public holidays prescribed by the Fair Work Act.

Jurisdictional public holidays can differ, depending on the state or territory. A state or territory law may also change the date of observance of a statutory public holiday (for example, the King’s Birthday holiday or Labour Day).

The Melbourne Cup and the AFL Grand Final Day, celebrated in the state of Victoria, are examples of public holidays declared by a state or territory government. Some cities and towns also observe regional holidays for local events, such as the Agricultural Show or regional NSW bank holidays. Regional public holidays are non-statutory holidays.

What to do on Australian public holidays

Wherever you are located in Australia, there are lots of things to see and do on a public holiday. Whether you are looking for family-friendly activities or adult inspiration, Australian states and territories have you covered with plenty of events.

australian public holidays

Why are Mother’s Day and Father’s Day not listed as a public holiday?

Both Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are Observances rather than public holidays. Australians do not receive a legislated holiday or day off in lieu.

Why is Valentine’s Day not listed as a public holiday?

Valentine’s Day is not a public holiday in any country, but it is a Feast Day in the Anglican and Lutheran Churches.

Important: Whilst all care is taken to ensure the data presented here is accurate, content published on this page is subject to change at any time without notice and may be inaccurate at the time you view it. The Champagne Mile will not be held accountable for informational and technical inaccuracies or errors. Site users are encouraged to cross-reference the information presented on this site with official Australian and state/territory government source websites.

While you’re here: Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest tips, deals and news. It only takes a few seconds and we respect your privacy:

Scroll to Top